Präsidialamt  UdS Campus   New building   DfKI Plastik  
 

Important Dates


Workshop on Language technology and text-technological methods for E-Learning

Program

Here you can find a detailed schedule of the workshop program.

Call for Papers

We invite contributions for the Workshop on "Language technology and text-technological methods for E-Learning" to be held as a post-conference workshop on the 8th of September 2010 at Konvens 2010 (6th to 8th of September 2010, Saarbrücken, Germany).

This workshop tries to bring together participants from all involved fields, either academic or non-university. We especially invite contributions dealing with the generation, modeling or retrieval of flexible learning objects, learning scenarios, or learning sequences, but also contributions dealing with E-Learning as a research question included in but not limited to the following application fields:

  • (Intelligent) Computer-Assisted Language Learning
  • NLP methods in E-Learning applications (e.g. Assessment and Feedback, Generation of Content, Tests, Glossaries or the like)
  • Ontologies in the context of E-Learning
  • Linguistic corpora as a resource for E-Learning
  • User generated content in the context of E-Learning

Theme and Scope

The relevance of E-Learning has grown in the past ten years, both in academic and non-university environments. While most of the efforts done in the first decade concentrated on the creation of E-Learning platforms (Learning Management Systems), a second aspect, which became relevant during the last five years, was research on the didactic part of E-Learning, trying to locate a place for the technically enhanced learning scenarios in the wider range of learning in general.

For theses reasons often only Computer Science and Educational Science are meant as academic disciplines that drive the innovation, it is a fact that in addition Computational Linguistics and Text Technology are playing an important role, too. Examples of activities of both disciplines are ICALL, CALL and other NLP-related tasks and methods used in E-Learning applications, as well as the use of linguistic corpora for E-Learning, and E-Learning-related standards and specifications (e.g. IEEE LOM, SCORM, IMS Learning Design). Although research in these fields is often followed separately from each other, both research perspectives on E-Learning share two global tasks: 1. The implementation of adaptive and personalized learning, 2. the (semi-)automation of generating and retrieving learning objects, tests, glossaries or the like. The first task is either accomplished in the framework of ICALL and the use of NLP-methods (Computational Linguistics and Computer Science), or by adopting standards and specifications like SCORM, IMS Simple Sequencing or IMS Learning Design (Text Technology). With regard to the second task, computational linguists often rely amongst others on machine learning techniques or statistical methods, while Text Technology often focus on the step further ahead: the modeling of sustainable learning content using text-technological methods and tools (such as markup languages, open corpora or user generated content), which may be both automatically recombined and retrieved on the basis of the information provided by their annotation.

This workshop tries to bring together participants from all involved fields, either academic or non-university. We especially invite contributions dealing with the generation, modeling or retrieval of flexible learning objects, learning scenarios, or learning sequences, but also contributions dealing with E-Learning as a research question included in but not limited to the following application fields:

  • (Intelligent) Computer-Assisted Language Learning
  • NLP methods in E-Learning applications (e.g. Assessment and Feedback, Generation of Content, Tests, Glossaries or the like)
  • Ontologies in the context of E-Learning
  • Linguistic corpora as a resource for E-Learning
  • User generated content in the context of E-Learning

Important Dates

  • Deadline for submission (extended abstract or full paper): May 23, 2010
  • Notification of acceptance: July 6, 2010
  • Workshop: September 8, 2010
  • Camera-ready full Paper due: October 16, 2010

Organisers

  • Maik Stührenberg
  • Maja Bärenfänger

Program Committee

  • Delphine Bernhard (LIMSI-CNRS, Orsay, France)
  • Lothar Lemnitzer (Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften)
  • Henning Lobin (Universität Gießen)
  • Cerstin Mahlow (Universität Zürich)
  • Michael Piotrowski (Universität Zürich)
  • Fridolin Wild (Open University)
  • Magdalena Wolska (Universität des Saarlands, Saarbrücken)

Invited Speakers

  • Iryna Gurevych (TU Darmstadt)
  • Erik Duval (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven)

Submissions

Contributions should be submitted in the form of extended abstracts (not longer than 4 pages, including bibliography and figures). As the review process will be anonymous, your submission must not contain the author(s) name(s) and affiliation(s), or other indications of the author(s) identity. Each submission will be blind reviewed by at least two members of the Program Committee.

The workshop languages are English and German. We encourage the submission of contributions in English. Submission should be done via EasyChair by May 23, 2010.

Accepted papers will be published in the form of full papers (not longer than 10 pages) in a special issue of the Journal for Language Technology and Computational Linguistics (JLCL). Full papers should be submitted by October 16, 2010. For style sheets and templates both for LaTeX and Word visit here

If you need further information please don't hesitate to contact either Maik Stührenberg (maik DOT stuehrenberg AT uni-bielefeld DOT de) or Maja Bärenfänger (maja DOT baerenfaenger AT germanistik DOT uni-giessen DOT de).

Important Note

Authors of accepted papers must register as participants for KONVENS 2010, even if they intend to participate in the workshop only. Additional fees for the Workshop are 5 EUR.

Download the Call for Papers pdf

back to top

Präsidialamt   UdS Campus   Neubau   DfKI Plastik  
 

Wichtige Termine


Workshop zu Sprachtechnologie und texttechnologischen Methoden im E-Learning

Programm

Hier finden Sie das Programm des Workshops.

Call for Papers

Der Workshop "Sprachtechnologie und texttechnologischen Methoden im E-Learning" möchte Forscher diverser Forschungsdisziplinen zusammenbringen. Willkommen sind Beiträge, die sich mit der Generierung, Modellierung oder dem Retrieval flexibler Lernobjekte, Lernszenarios oder Lernsequenzen beschäftigen, aber auch Beiträge, die sich im Zusammenhang mit den folgenden Forschungsbereichen mit E-Learning als Forschungsfrage beschäftigen:

  • ICALL
  • NLP-Methoden in E-Learning-Anwendungen (z.B. Assessment und Feedback, Generierung von Inhalten, Tests, Glossaren o.ä.)
  • Ontologien im E-Learning
  • Linguistische Korpora als Ressource für E-Learning
  • Nutzer-generierte Inhalte im E-Learning

Thema

E-Learning hat in den letzten 10 Jahren immer mehr an Bedeutung gewonnen, nicht nur im universitären, sondern erst recht auch im außeruniversitären Bereich. Während die erste Dekade bestimmt war von der Entwicklung von Lernplattformen und Inhalten, stand im Fokus der letzten fünf Jahre vor allem die Forschung zu didaktischen Aspekten. Dabei ging es darum, das durch Technologien gestützte und erweiterte Lernen in der Forschung zum Lernen im Allgemeinen zu verorten.

Aus diesen Gründen wurden oft vor allem die Informatik und Didaktik als akademische Disziplinen betrachtet, die die Innovation im E-Learning-Bereich vorantreiben. Tatsächlich spielen jedoch auch Computerlinguistik und Texttechnologie eine zentrale Rolle. Forschungsaktivitäten beider Disziplinen im Zusammenhang mit E-Learning sind beispielsweise CALL, ICALL, NLP-basierte Methoden in E-Learning-Anwendungen, außerdem der Einsatz linguistischer Korpora im E-Learning sowie E-Learning-bezogene Standards und Spezifikationen (z.B. IEEE LOM, SCORM, IMS Learning Design). Obwohl die Forschung in diesen Bereichen oft unabhängig voneinander ist, teilen sie sich doch zwei globale Aufgaben: 1. Die Implementierung adaptiven und personalisierten Lernens, 2. die maschinelle Generierung und das Retrieval von Lernobjekten, Tests, Glossaren, o.ä. Die erste Aufgabe wird entweder im Rahmen von ICALL und NLP verfolgt (Computerlinguistik und Informatik) oder durch die Anwendung von Standards und Spezifikationen wie SCORM, IMS Simple Sequencing oder IMS Learning Design (Texttechnologie). Im Hinblick auf die zweite Aufgabe beziehen sich Computerlinguisten häufig auf maschinelle Lernverfahren oder statistische Methoden, während die Texttechnologie oft einen Schritt vorher ansetzt: bei der Modellierung nachhaltiger Lerninhalte mittels texttechnologischer Methoden und Werkzeuge (wie Markup Sprachen, offene Korpora oder Nutzer-generierte Inhalte), die auf Basis der Informationen, die über ihre Annotation zur Verfügung stehen, automatisch gefunden und rekombiniert werden können.

Wichtige Termine

  • Abgabetermin für Einreichungen (als erweiterter Abstract oder "full paper"): 23.05.2010
  • Benachrichtigung über die Annahme: 06.07.2010
  • Workshop: 08.09.2010
  • Einsendung der druckfertigen Beiträge: 16.10.2010

Organisation

  • Maik Stührenberg
  • Maja Bärenfänger

Programmkomitee

  • Delphine Bernhard (LIMSI-CNRS, Orsay, France)
  • Lothar Lemnitzer (Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften)
  • Henning Lobin (Universität Gießen)
  • Cerstin Mahlow (Universität Zürich)
  • Michael Piotrowski (Universität Zürich)
  • Fridolin Wild (Open University)
  • Magdalena Wolska (Universität des Saarlands, Saarbrücken)

Eingeladene Vorträge

  • Iryna Gurevych (TU Darmstadt)
  • Erik Duval (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven)

Einreichungen

Beiträge sollten in Form erweiterter Abstracts (nicht länger als 4 Seiten inklusive Literatur und Abbildungen) eingereicht werden. Da die Begutachtung anonym erfolgt, sollte die Einreichung weder Name des Autors noch Affiliation noch andere Hinweise auf die Identität des Autors enthalten. Jede Einreichung wird von mindestens zwei Mitgliedern des Programmkomitees begutachtet.

Die Workshop-Sprachen sind Englisch und Deutsch. Wir befürworten die Einreichung von Beiträgen in Englisch. Einreichungen können bis zum 23. Mai via EasyChair getätigt werden.

Angenommene Beiträge werden als "full paper" (nicht länger als 10 Seiten) in einer Sonderausgabe des Journal for Language Technology and Computational Linguistics (JLCL) publiziert. Druckfertige Beiträge müssen bis zum 16. Oktober 2010 eingereicht werden.Stylesheets und Vorlagen für LaTeX and Word finden Sie hier.

Wenn Sie weitere Informationen benötigen, können Sie gerne Maja Bärenfänger (maja.baerenfaenger(at)germanistik.uni-giessen.de) oder Maik Stührenberg (maik.stuehrenberg(at)uni-bielefeld.de) kontaktieren.

Wichtiger Hinweis

Autoren von angenommenen Beiträgen müssen sich als Teilnehmer der KONVENS 2010 registieren, auch wenn sie nur am Workshop selbst teilnehmen möchten. Der Zusatzbeitrag für den Workshop beträgt 5 Euro.

Download Call for Papers pdf

back to top